top of page

The Amalfi Coast

For our last weekend of the trip, a few of us took a little vacation to the the Amalfi Coast. We relaxed on the beach, swam in the Mediterranean and had some pretty good food. What stood out to me the most, not just in Amalfi but on the entire trip was probably the raw tuna.

I have always enjoyed fish, so this wasn't something new to me. However, this was the first time eating it raw. When I was looking over the menu I didn't know what to expect. Didn't know the size or how the lemon and sesame coat would taste, and it came with a salad I have never heard of. I may not be back so I might as well try. I was also tired of all the pizza and pasta I have been consuming so I wanted something different.

When the dish finally arrived it took me by surprise. It wasn't the size I was expecting for the price I paid, but i was going to enjoy it none the less. As a drink I ordered a cold Peroni (Italian beer), and as I took my first bite, I knew this was one of the best fish I have ever had. Despite the small size the taste stays with you well after your last bite.

This meal showed me that there is so many different things out there, you just got to look. Try the unordinary and don't order the same thing every single time. Trying new things is fun and can really have an impact on you.

bottom of page